Akeredolu of APC emerges winner of Ondo election


The incumbent Governor of Ondo State, Oluwarotimi Akeredolu has successfully been re-elected for a second term as governor after the election held on Saturday.

Akeredolu of APC emerges winner of Ondo election

Akeredolu, the candidate of the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC, was declared winner after polling the highest number of votes.

The result was announced by the election’s Chief Returning Officer, Prof. Abel Olayinka who is also the Vice-Chancellor of the University of Ibadan, UI.

The governor who will be spending another four year term in office won in 15 of the 18 local government areas of the state while his rival, Eyitayo Jegede of the People’s Democratic Party, PDP won the remaining three within the Central Senatorial District.

According to the votes as announced, Akeredolu polled a total of 292,830 votes, Jegede scored 195,791 with Ajayi coming a distant third with 69,127.

Below is the result as declared by INEC:

Ifedore LG:

APC 9,350,

PDP 11,852,

ZLP 1.860

Irele LG

APC 12,643

PDP 5,493

ZLP 5,904

Ile-Oluji/Oke-Igbo LG

APC 13,278

PDP 9,231

ZLP 1,971

Ondo East LG

APC 6,485

PDP 4,049

ZLP 3,221

Idanre LG

APC 11,286

PDP 7,499

ZLP 3,623

Owo LG

APC 35,957

PDP 5,311

ZLP 408

Akoko North East LG

APC 16,572

PDP 8,380

ZLP 3,532

Akoko South West LG

APC 21,232

PDP 15,055

ZLP 2,775

Akoko North West

APC 15,809

PDP 10,320

ZLP 3,477

Akure North LG

APC 9,546

PDP 12,263

ZLP 1,046

Akoko South East LG

APC 9,419

PDP 4,033

ZLP 2,055

Akure South LG

APC 17,277

PDP 47,627

ZLP 2,236

Ose LG

APC 15,122

PDP 8,421

ZLP 1,083

Okitipupa LG

APC 19,266

PDP 10,367

ZLP 10,120

Ondo West LG

APC 15,977

PDP 10,627

ZLP 10,159

Odigbo LG

APC 23,571

PDP 9,485

ZLP 6,540


APC 36,675

PDP 11,128

ZLP 4405

Ese Odo

APC 13,383

PDP 4,680

ZLP 4,760


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:


More like this

LIVE: Ondo Election Results From Polling Units #OndoDecides2020

The results for the Ondo governorship election are currently...

DSS Warn Nigerians Against Nationwide Violent Protests

The Department of State Services (DSS) has issued a...

Front Page Headlines From Top Newspapers In Nigeria Today, 4th September, 2023

Good morning Nigeria, Here are the breaking news headlines...

Niger Coup: Goodluck Jonathan Meets ECOWAS Parliament

Goodluck Ebele Jonathan, a former president of Nigeria earlier...